Delayed by a caterpillar

There are some days during which one’s goals can quickly dissolve in the bog of ‘other things’.

Today I thought I would ‘just quickly’ keyword and upload some of the many caterpillar photographs sitting on my computer. I am determined to not upload any image, especially a nature image, that is not keyworded with its correct scientific and common names. This caterpillar was found on a tomato plant in my garden (as are most bugs – I sure do have trouble growing tomatoes) and, since many of its kind find their way into my small garden, I thought it would be pretty easy to identify.

Well, I’ve googled for hours and pored over every butterfly and caterpillar photograph in the Struik Field Guide to Insects of South Africa, and cannot find a similar looking fellow. The research led me to numerous websites with pictures of some amazing looking insects – very beautiful creatures, none of which I would like to find in my garden. How do you kill a big, squishy caterpillar that looks as if it has flowers growing from its body? Rather let it eat what it wants … decimate the garden.

My caterpillar looks pretty much like the Cherry Spot caterpillar, but the markings are not quite the same. I posted a pic here, so let’s see what happens.

Anyway, having spent some hours achieving nothing, it’s time to move on to some other work … like edit that novel of mine that’s also been rattling about my computer for some years.

OI-DH_8807_caterpillarLOW RES

This type of caterpillar is found quite often in my garden, usually on the tomato plants. I have no idea what it is, though.

OI09062745 WP

Mom caterpillar and baby caterpillar, feasting on some tender tomato leaves

I took these pics with a Canon EF 100mm f/2.8 USM Macro Lens and the Canon Macro Twin Lite MT-24EX Flash (still my favourite piece of camera equipment).

Leave a comment

Filed under Macro Photography, Nature photography, Photography

Leave a Reply

