Garden bugs

Trying to grow an organic garden is pretty rewarding. It comes with some drawbacks, though. Like regular plant-scoffing visitors. I was amazed to discover how many bugs I have in my garden. This is not so good for the basil and the roses, let alone the lettuce, but it does give my macro lens and twinlight flash some air.

I discovered that my elegant lady is covered in canaeus carnifex, commonly known as red bugs or fire bugs. They seem to mate a great deal, and the hundreds of teeny babies in the seed heads of my shrub will attest to that.

Cenaeus carnifex, also called red bugs or fire bugs

The green vegetable bug is almost impossible to detect. All you see is brown curled up leaves left in its wake.

Nezara viridula, or green vegetable bug

Nezara viridula - you don't want to squash these guys. There's a reason why they belong to the stink bug family

The sunflower seed bug decimated my tomato bush – pride and joy of my garden, and producer of a rather fine harvest. There is now a bare patch where she once stood.

Agnoscellis versicoloratus, or sunflower seed bug

Amazing how creatures so destructive can be so beautiful. I don’t have the heart to kill them, so I’m hoping some big bird will come along and have them for breakfast before my garden is a desert wasteland!

1 Comment

Filed under Flash photography, Macro Photography, Photographing gardens, Photography

One response to “Garden bugs

  1. Pingback: Mating True Bugs from South Africa: Cotton Stainers perhaps | What's That Bug?

Leave a Reply

